Toggle search bar

WxT Language switcher

The Canadian River Stewardship Award



In the foreground, a red canoe sits along the rocky shoreline of Hairy Lake. Many reeds and bulrushes are visible on the lake.

The Canadian River Stewardship Award is presented every three years to individuals or organizations who have made a significant contribution to the stewardship of a Canadian Heritage River or to the Canadian Heritage Rivers System program as a whole.

Rivers are important to Canada and Canadians. This award honours the invaluable contributions that Canadians are making to highlight their significance and honour their role in our past, present and future.

Do you know a river champion on your heritage river who accomplished something amazing between 2020-2023? The Canadian Heritage Rivers System would like to recognize them! The call for nominations is now open. Up to three recipients to be selected by the Canadian Heritage Rivers Board.

The nomination period has now closed. 

Guidelines and Procedures

History of the award

First presented in 1994 as the National River Conservation Award, The Canadian River Stewardship award honours an individual or organization that have made an outstanding contribution to a specific heritage river or to the Canadian Heritage Rivers System as a whole during the proceeding three years.