Contact Us

Contact Us

Contact information for members of the Canadian Heritage Rivers Board and for the Technical Planning Committee is provided below.

Canadian Heritage Rivers Team

Parks Canada provides support to the CHRS program. For general information on the program, please contact:


Canadian Heritage Rivers Board and Technical Planning Committee

For information on specific Canadian Heritage Rivers or inquiries regarding new nominations and designations, please address the appropriate federal, provincial or territorial Board member. (No Quebec contact is provided because Quebec does not participate in the CHRS program, as it has its own system of Aquatic Reserves).


Newfoundland and Labrador

Rick Carey  

Director, Land Management Division
Department of Environment and Conservation
P.O. Box 2006
Fortis Building 
Corner Brook, NL   A2H 6J8
Tel.: (709) 637-2081

Jeri Graham 

Manager, Natural Area Program
Department of Fisheries and Land Resources
P.O. Box 2006
Fortis Building 
Corner Brook, NL   A2H 6J8
Tel.: (709) 637-4066


Prince Edward Island

Shane Arbing 

Manager, Provincial Parks
Economic Development and Tourism 
Shaw Building
95-105 Rochford Street
Charlottetown, PE  C1A 7NB
Tel.: (902) 368-4404



Nova Scotia

Peter Labor  

Director, Protected Areas and Ecosystems
Nova Scotia Environment
1903 Barrington Street
Halifax, NS  B3J 2P8
Tel.: (902) 449-6086 

Sally Steele

Protected Areas Coordinator
Department of Natural Resources
312 Green Street
Lunenburg, NS B0J 2C0
Tel.: (902) 521-5652


New Brunswick

Ken Kinney  

Manager, Planning Section, Crown Lands Branch
Department of Natural Resources
Hugh John Flemming Forestry Centre
P. O. Box 6000
Fredericton, NB  E3B 5H1
Tel.: (506) 444-3281

Kevin Barry

Land Planner, Planning Section, Crown Lands Branch
P. O. Box 6000
Fredericton, NB  E3B 5H1
Tel.: (506) 444-2733



Bruce Bateman  

Managing Director of Ontario Parks 
Ministry of Natural Resources
PO Box 7000, 300 Water Street
Peterborough, ON  K9J 8M5
Tel.: (705) 755-1702 

Joslyn Spurgeon

Park Planner, Ministry of Natural Resources
6th floor S, 300 Water Street
Peterborough, ON K9J 8M3
Tel.: (705) 755-7503



Rob Nedotiafko

Director of Parks and Natural Areas
Manitoba Conservation
PO Box 50, 200 Saulteaux Crescent
Winnipeg, MB  R3J 3W3
Tel.: (204) 792-2926

Angela Howells

Park Planner, Manitoba Sustainable Development
Box 53, 200 Saulteaux Crescent
Winnipeg, MB R3J 3W3
Tel.: (204) 945-0582



Deanna Jacobs  

Executive Director, Visitor Experiences
Ministry of Parks, Culture and Sport
1st Floor, 3211 Albert Street
Regina, SK  S4S 5W6
Tel.: (306) 787-4931

Dorothy Looyestein

Senior Consultation Advisor
Parks, Culture and Sport 
P.O. Box 5000 
La Ronge, SK  S0J 1L0
Tel: (306) 425-4217



Tracy Draper

Director, Land Management
Alberta Environment and Parks
3rd Floor Oxbridge Place, 9820–106 Street,
Edmonton, AB  T5K 2J6
Tel.: (780) 427-2757

Brian Joubert

Senior Parks Planner
Alberta Environment and Parks
2nd Floor, 9820 106 St.
Edmonton, AB T5K 2J6
Tel.: (780) 641-9325


British Columbia

Bob Austad  

Director, Regional Operations
Mnistry of Environment, BC Parks
4th Floor, 2975 Jutland Road
Victoria, BC    V8T 5J9
Tel.: (778) 698-4281

Volker Michelfelder

Planning Section Head, 
Ministry of Environment, BC Parks
Thompson Cariboo Region
Hagensborg, BC    V0T 0H0
Tel.: (250) 982-2701 x. 2224


Krysti Horton

A/Manager, Parks Planning
Department of Environment
PO Box 2703, V-4
Whitehorse, YT  Y1A 2C6
Tel.: (867) 667-3048

Brian Johnston

Park Planner 
Department of Environment
Box 2703 V-4
Whitehorse, Yukon  Y1A 2C6
Tel.: (867) 393-7595


Northwest Territories

Michelle Swallow

Manager, Conservation Planning
Environment and Natural Resources
Government of Northwest Territories
500, 5102-50th Avenue
Yellowknife, NT  X1A 2L9
Tel.: (867) 767-9233 ext. 53080

Kelly Stein

Conservation Areas Planner
Environment and Natural Resources
Government of Northwest Territories
Box 1320, 500, 5102-50th Avenue 
Yellowknife, NT  X1A 2L9
Tel.: (867) 767-9233 ext. 53073



Linda Vaillancourt  

A/Director, Parks and Special Places
Department of Environment
Government of Nunavut
P.O. Box 1000, Station 1340
Iqaluit, NU  X0A 0H0
Tel.: (867) 975-7723 Fax: (867) 975-5980

Rebecca Pearson

Canadian Heritage Rivers Coordinator
Government of Nunavut
P.O. Box 83
Rankin Inlet, NU  X0C OG0
Tel.: (867)645-8005


Indigenous and Northern Affairs 

Marcus Bermann  

Director, Resource Management
Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada
PO Box 2200
Qimugjuk Building, 969 Federal Road
Iqaluit, NU  X0A 0H0
Tel.: (867) 975-4731



Parks Canada

Mandy McCarthy

Director, Heritage Designations and Programs Branch
Heritage Conservation and Commemoration Directorate
Parks Canada Agency
3rd Floor, 30 Victoria Street
Gatineau, QC  J8X 0B3
Tel.: (819) 420-9253  

Amber Stewart

Integrated Land Use Planner
Jasper National Park
P.O. Box 10
Jasper, AB   T0E 1E0
Tel.: (780) 852-6147